Inaugural Award Ceremony 2022

The Arts Council of Pakistan in collaboration with the Ahfaz-ur-Rehman Award Commi­ttee organised the Ahfaz-ur-Rehman Award 2022 here.

Senior journalist Amar Jalil was awarded with the Ahfaz-ur-Rehman Award for lifetime achievement and courage of expression.

TV anchorperson and journalist Asma Shirazi was awarded the Ahfaz-ur-Rehman Award for freedom of journalism.

A nine-member committee had selected the names of the award recipients by mutual consultation.

Joining the event online, Amar Jalil said that he was happy to receive the award while also being pleasantly surprised as he did not remember committing any great act of courage. He thanked the Ahfaz-ur-Rehman Award Committee for the award.

Hussain Naqi presented the award to Dr Amjad Siraj, who received it on Jalil’s behalf.

Also speaking online, Ms Shirazi said that it was a matter of great honour for her to receive the award carrying the auspicious name of Ahfaz-ur-Rehman. “Today’s award has become a great source of strength for me,” she said.

ACP president Ahmed Shah received the award on her behalf, which was presented by senior journalist Ghazi Salahuddin.

A documentary on Ahfaz-ur-Rehman was also screened on the occasion in which senior journalists Fazil Jamili, Mehnaz Rehman, Nasir Zaidi and Shahnaz Ahad also expressed their views.

Scholar Dr Syed Jaffar Ahmed read out commemorative essay in honour of Ahfaz-ur-Rehman.

For news stories, see herehere and this video